Book Crook Confessions

Where books steal the show

Waiting On….Wednesday: Insurgent

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by the folks at Breaking the Spine. This highlights the books that keep us all waiting up til midnight so we can rush to the stores for their release.

This weeks Waiting On entry is……..

Insurgent (Divergent #2)
By: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: May 1, 2012 (wont be waiting much longer)

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)

Blurb via Goodreads “One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.” 

So I have to admit I hate to be waiting on this one because it means admitting I was very wrong when it comes to Miss Roth’s series of books. For almost a year I rebelled against reading Divergent. I felt like it was another author jumped on the dystopian bandwagon and pumped up along the publicity train until I felt like I was seeing the cover everywhere. I read the blurb with an overly biased mind and contempt in my heart, thinking “what kind of world splits into factions with only one trait, who would do that”, “why just Chicago, that doesnt have any merit on the story, that’s stupid” and even going so far in my misguided anger as to honestly question the main character’s name. Yes I was a petty 3 year old whining because I didnt like how everyone got excited about someone else’s toy, but at least I came around. Because come around I did, finally reading and LOVING Divergent (review to come). The only bright side of this misguided anger at the media machine is that I only came to love this series about a month ago, making my Waiting Wednesdays much fewer on the rode to Insurgent than some. So  reminder to all who may have overlooked the publication date and advice that this book is worth waiting on to all who still fear this is a product of hype, this once skeptic will be searching for a midnight release.

Til next time,
Your Book Crook (Hunter)

Agree? Disagree? Share your opinion with me!
Type in the box down there, I love to see what you share,
So click that comment box, cuz a reader who comments ROCKS!!!!!

4 Comments

  1. I haven’t had a chance to buy a copy of Divergent yet, but I do have both Divergent & Insurgent on my wishlist. Great wow pick. I’m a new email follower. Natasha @ Paranormal Goddess Book Blog – My Waiting On Wednesday Post

    • Thanks so much for the comment and following me! I’m glad they made it on your wishlist. And I liked your WOW post but Ill comment on it over on your blog.

  2. I’m definitely waiting for this one too! I’m so keen to find out what is going to happen next in this world.

    • I know!I feel like the ending of Divergent was very open, there was very little foreshadowing of the next books events.

Comments? OMG I love comments, thank you!!! (and follows too :) )

